Tourist Visa Update 2023: Introducing ETIAS and What’s Changing!

Visiting Europe is on the bucket list of many travelers around the world. Whether you’re entranced by its rich history, diverse cultures, or mesmerizing landscapes, Europe offers a plethora of experiences. If you’re planning a trip soon, there’s something you need to know: the introduction of the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System). Let’s delve into what ETIAS is and the changes for 2023 that every traveler should be aware of.

 What is ETIAS?

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. It’s a visa waiver system introduced by the European Union to enhance the security of its borders. Similar to the U.S. ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization), it pre-screens travelers from visa-exempt countries before they enter the Schengen Zone.

 Who needs ETIAS?

Starting in 2023, citizens from over 60 visa-exempt countries, including the United States, Canada, Australia, and Japan, will be required to obtain an ETIAS authorization before traveling to the Schengen Area. This is a departure from the previous system, where nationals from these countries could travel to the Schengen Area for short stays (up to 90 days within a 180-day period) without any visa or pre-authorization.

 The Application Process

The ETIAS application process is relatively straightforward:

– Online Application: Travelers will need to fill out an online application form which requires personal information, passport details, and answers to questions regarding security, health, and previous travel history.

– Fee Payment: There’s a small fee associated with the ETIAS application. Once paid, most applications are processed within a few hours.

– Approval & Denial: After submission, most applicants will receive their approval quickly. However, in cases where further inspection is required, it can take up to 96 hours. It’s important to note that a denied application means the traveler will need to apply for a traditional Schengen visa.

 Duration and Validity

An approved ETIAS is valid for 3 years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first. This gives travelers the flexibility of multiple entries without the need for re-application during its validity, provided each stay doesn’t exceed 90 days within a 180-day period.

 Why the change?

The primary reason for introducing ETIAS is enhancing security. By pre-screening travelers, European authorities aim to identify and reduce potential threats from entering the Schengen Zone. Moreover, ETIAS will also help in managing immigration more effectively, reducing processing times at borders, and assisting in the prevention of irregular migration.

Preparing for Your Trip in 2023

If you’re from a visa-exempt country and planning to visit the Schengen Zone in 2023 or beyond, remember to:

  • Apply Early: Even though the ETIAS approval process is often quick, it’s advisable to apply at least a few days before your trip.
  • Keep Updated: Regularly check the official ETIAS website for updates and changes.
  • Documentation: Always carry a copy of your ETIAS approval while traveling.


The introduction of ETIAS marks a significant change for travelers to Europe in 2023. But with a bit of preparation and understanding, it’s a small step that ensures safer and smoother travels for everyone. So pack your bags, secure your ETIAS authorization, and get ready for your European adventure!

Did you find this blog helpful? Share it with fellow travelers and ensure everyone is up-to-date with the latest European travel requirements!

Related Posts